Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while other individuals are convinced there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are not that serious, such as making them do work for the local community. In my view, it would be better to imprison only the real criminals in order to prevent some possible problems, like overpopulation and extra costs in prisons. On the one hand, every person sent to prison is educated and disciplined properly. However, sending everyone who committed a crime there is incorrect and might lead to a higher number of prisoners than available rooms. Moreover, this solution will generate more expenses, since everyone should be fed, taken care of and have a room to sleep in. As a result, more money from the government and people’s taxes will go to prisoners’ needs instead of spending it on something useful, such as education and medicine. Also, making the committers of minor crimes do the local community work will make our society a little bit better. For example, they could decorate or clean the streets, as well as trimming the bushes, painting the buildings and sorting the garbage, consequently making the city prettier. More than that, working will teach them patience, they will have enough time to thing about their behaviour and, what is the most important, will understand that they will have to pay this way every time they do illegal things. To conclude, there is no need to imprison everyone who is guilty of something minor if the government’s goal is to avoid unnecessary costs. There are better options to punish these people by making our society more beautiful and pleasant to live in, like making them clean and decorate public spaces.