In some counntries, the cost of living is rapidly increasing. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What effects might this have on society?

Rising cost of living is a global challenge which has a detrimental effects on people around the world. I believe this is the result of poor government regulations on crucial sectors such as housing, thus driving up simple day to day expense. In recent years, large companies have been operating in partnerships that strenghten their influence over the market. This does not only allow them to manipulate the customer for profit but also eliminate any smaller competitors. Moreover, if the government doesn't enforce proper regulations on these companies, they are even more likely to exploit their advantages. As strong government policy can limit the capabilities and controls that these companies have. For instance, the mobile network industry in Thailand has only three massive companies for citizen to chooses from. These companies work in tandem, cutting deals with one another that result in more profit margin for them while cutting down choices for customer. The effects of increased cost of living cannot be overlooked, especially on young adults. University graduate often struggles to live independently. One of the most prominent problem is housing, which has skyrocketted in the last decade. Compared to the past, cost of buying a house or simply renting has risen to the point that it is almost impossible for first jobber to afford. Consequently, leading to many young people unable to live comfortably. To conclude, cost of living has been rapidly increasing due to monopolizing and poor government management. This allow companies to limit customer's choices and creates hardship especially for young adults trying to settle on their own.