Some people believe that technology has made people less sociable, while others believe it has improved the way people communicate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that technology plays a significant role in every aspect of modern lifestyle. While some people argue that technology has diminished the need of social interaction among humans, others reject this notion and contend that it has enhanced the ways of communication. I strongly agree with the former statement. Although technology has made virtual interaction highly convenient, face-to-face interaction has vital significance in an individual’s life. On the one hand, technological advancements have provided easy and affordable channels for communication. The social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp messenger have enabled people to broaden their friend circle. People, especially young adults, nowadays can connect with like-minded people through digital media. This results in fostering their relationship and help enhance their knowledge about diverse cultures. Moreover, these digital channels have provided great support to international students with a cheaper and instant medium to connect with their families, which was unimaginable previously due to distance and cost. The video calls and messaging apps ensure that families can remain closely connected, thereby strengthening their emotional bond. On the other hand, others argue that technology has led to social isolation. Many individuals, no longer feel the need to attend social events because they assume everything will be shared on social media. As a result, personal relationships, particularly within families, may weaken. For instance, young adults may prefer chatting in online groups rather than participating in family gatherings or social clubs, which reduces the opportunities of meaningful in-person bonding. Apart from this, if people excessively rely on technology, their ability to develop strong interpersonal skills and empathy deteriorates, potentially leading to feelings of loneliness and emotional disconnect. In conclusion, although digital communication is greatly useful in making connectivity with family and friends easier, it has substituted physical meetings and social interaction. Therefore, the disadvantages of modern technology clearly outweigh its advantages.