If old people are no longer physically, mentally, or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has always been a controversy regarding whether younger family members should take legal responsibility for supporting their elderly who are mentally, physically or financially unable to take care of themselves. Some opine that this would be the right thing to do, while there are many others who disagree. As for me, I agree with the statement, and this essay will discuss my views. Youngsters are capable depending on their age. This is because they always have the family to rely on and look up to. This means they have the older experience generation to seek guidance and assistance from. Furthermore, when the younger members were kids, the older generations took care of them. Therefore, it is only right to stay as a family and take care of each other. The moral option would be to take care of them. Especially, as they have been the teachers and pillars that taught them how to be and survive as who they are now. Therefore, legally, it is right as if it were optional, they wouldn’t have opted to take on the responsibility. On the other hand, it would be difficult to make major decisions. This is because they lack the knowledge. This can lead to making the wrong decisions. As a consequence, the family may be in a more difficult situation. Moreover, many may not have had a good childhood, they would have struggled and worked part-time while juggling their studies to be where they are now based entirely on all their earned hard work. In conclusion, the youth should be responsible for their families; nevertheless, it depends on the age and occupation of the person, which determines their capability.