'Prevention is better than cure''. Researching and treating disease is too costly so it would be better to invets in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree

There has been a heated debate about whether pre-emptive actions for diseases have a bigger effect than investing in cure. While some people state that preventative actions help save money for health and prevent family breakdown, other opponents argue that curing is the best way to solve health issues. In this essay, I strongly agree that investing in prevention brings a more ripple effect. To begin with, taking proactive measures is more of importance as curing diseases requires a more significant amount of cost. For example, when patients are diagnosed with cancer, they must undergo examinations through PET-CT and MRI, followed by chemotherapy and radiotherapy. Therefore, the whole process places financial burdens on their family. Not only does this situation affect household finances, but it also extends beyond their mental status such as depression. This is because only one supporter takes all responsibility for their household. Considering these consequences, diseases should be pre-empted by proper measures. On the other hand, there is another opposite opinion stating that preventative measures are usually time-consuming. This is because developing technologies and medicines for prevention usually takes a few decades and requires a vast number of budgets, placing financial burdens on governments and their citizens. For instance, developing HPV vaccines took over 20 years until it settled in a medical field and patients received them with safety. While those preventative technologies are developing, patients cannot wait for them to be released. Despite these drawbacks, the positive effects of prevention should not be ignored as new preventative measures enable people to live longer and prevent contagious diseases. In conclusion, while there is still an argument over which is more valuable between disease prevention and cure, preventing diseases in advance is more meaningful considering overall life expectancy.