Many people keep dogs and cats as companions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for animals involved and for the community as a whole.

Raising dogs and cats is becoming extremely popular in different communities aroround the world. This trend has multiple benefits and some drawbacks, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First of all, nobody can neglect the positive effect of pet ownership on elderly who are suffering from loneliness. Various international studies, published by wellknown psychologists, have shown that old individuals managed to overcome depression, after they have raised a pet. Also, many of them indicated that they have felt more secured, due to dogs companions. Furthermore, children growing up in families taking care of a pet, usually show more empathy towards their parents particularly, and their society in general. Living with an animal can provide a great opportunity for young children to experience the feeling of taking a responsibility. However, this trend can have some disadvantages as well. It can be really costly, especially on a family with limited sources of income. Feeding a pet, grooming it and providing medical atreatments for it can cost a huge amount of money. In addition, some pets like cats can cause an adverse effect on individuals suffering from asthma. Also, many people complained from serious allergic reactions, caused by some kind of pets. Some of them needed to be admitted to a hospital to be treated from an allergy caused by a cat. In conclusion, although raising dogs and cats can be very beneficial for the family itself and the whole community, it may resault in some financial and health issues. It is really wise to balance the benefits and the drawbacks before making a decision of owning a pet.