Some people believe that to become successful at a sport requires a natural ability, others think that hard work and practice are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is an irrefutable fact that a sportsperson's success can be widely attributed to several factors. While some people argue that success at a sport comes with natural ability, others reject this notion and believe that success in sports is the outcome of consistent practice and continuous effort. I totally agree with the latter view. This essay will analyse both views using relevant examples to prove my arguments. Many people are of the view that an individual with natural abilities is more likely to learn about a sport quicker than others. Since they are one step ahead of the others due to their abilities, they get an extra edge to enhance their sports-specific skills, which are essential to achieve their goals. For example, a person born with a sharp brain to understand the chess game tactics will give a faster start than others who start learning about this game and struggle with difficulties in learning it. However, I disagree with this view because a person born with certain skills, which are necessary for a particular game, needs to work on sharpening his or her techniques to conquer the battle when competing at national or international levels. That sharpness comes with lots of effort and passion to pursue a particular sport. I would take the side of the people who support the perspective that consistent efforts help in the cultivation of the essential skills that make a sportsperson successful. Rather than relying on conventional methods, the continuous hard work helps adapt new techniques, rules, and skillset quickly rather than relying on. Additionally, a sports enthusiast engaged in routine practice invents new tricks, which are effective to beat people dependent on their natural abilities. To exemplify, many famous football players are renowned becuase of their hard work and skill development with many years of game practice. Moreover, consistent practice allows a player to use his or her skills in the right way at the right time and without which he or she may not win the game. Thus, hard work and rigorous practice is the foundation of succeeding in sports. In conclusion, although people strongly argue that natural ability plays an essential role in successful sportsperson’s life, I believe extra efforts on improving the game skills hold vital significance to achieve desired goals. Therefore, I support the view that regular practice and putting extra efforts are paramount in a player’s career.