Some believe longer prison sentences reduce crime best. Others believe alternative methods work better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding crime rates in this growing world. A group of people believe that longer prison is the best option to reduce crime. However, others claim that there are different punishment instead of the former opinion. Therefore, ahead of my opinion, both views will be discuss further in upcoming paragraphs. Examin the former notion, the primary argument the supporters put forward is less crime activity on the streets. As criminals sentence for longer time in jail that impact on less bad individuals on street. In addition, they also believe that because of fear factor of extended prison time many will stop crime activites. The reason behind it is they criminals have to spent their half of life in prison and life over there is worse that normal one. For instance, in many countries it has seen that those have above mention punishment the crime ratio is less and citizen freely lived independant life. On the contray, those in favour of the latter opinion they have their own argument. To begin with they claim that there are alternative ways to reduce crimes. One of them was increase the watch area and time by police officers. The reason is because of the patroling cars of police in more criminal area reduce and make them stop doing any such thing. Moreover, there are rehab centers where criminals give one more chance to become better person. This is due to a change in personality and their sins they have one more chance. For example, in countries likes Japan, china and many more they introduce rehab centers and which shown result in decrement in crime rate. To conclude and put my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against longer prison and alternative punishments. However, I certainly favour the different punishment side, because they should give one chance to improve and patrolling cars of policeman can reduce criminal activites.