In many countries, too much money was spent by government and individuals on national celebration such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many traditional events and celebrations have been respected by nationals for a long time in each country, incuring a great amount of money. I definitely agree with these initiatives, as maintaining traditions is essential for forming national identities and keeping local communities, while the way of expenditure should be transparent for citizens. To begin with, cultural events for nationals require a lot of capital, basically paid from investors and even our taxes. This means how to spend money should be clearly published for people, including taxpayers, as it is easily hidden by organisations, resulting in splashing out financial resources. However, despite this attention, traditional initiatives should be protected and continued by all nationals, including individuals, private organizations and governments. Describing the national holiday in Japan, there is a habit that the national flag is decorated in front of the door at each house. In the New Year's holiday, people go to shrines or temples in order to wish well-being for families and relatives. These cultures significantly contribute to forming national identities, encouraging people to have motivations to keep traditional culture and responsibilities as members of the country. In addition, local events contribute to maintaining communities in the area. Over the past few decades, the issue that the connection of neighbourhoods becomes weaker has emerged due to a decline in population and the preference for protecting a safe environment. Holding local events such as festivals can be an important trigger to communicate with neighbours and make communities, which allows people to help each other at emergency. For this reason, residents should understand the importance of celebration and be allowed to spend national or local budgets. In summary, I argue that spending money for national celebration is essential to keep the national identity and the culture, as well as the resident community, even though the expenditure details should be transparent in public.