Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollutions and housing problems. To what extent do you agree to disagree with this statement?

It is increasingly argued that household issues are a major cause of sickness. Some critics believe that public authorities should be focusing on the mitigation of environmental pollution and home problems to avoid illnesses and diseases. From my perspective, I firmly agree with the given statement. Initially, environmental pollutants such as smoke in factories and excessive burning of fossil fuels affect our breathing drastically. This is largely because Oxygen is mixed up with poisons and pollutants, hence diseases occur. In addition, ministries of health globally will have a huge financial burden because the number of patients will rise due to the spread of illnesses across the world. For instance, a recent study from Oxford University revealed that expenditure on cures has increased 35 per cent in the European Union as a result of environmental pollution and housing problems. Furthermore, prevention is better than a cure. Which effectively means if legal action is taken strictly towards factories and oil companies to minimise the consumption of non-renewable energy as much as possible, huge finances will be preserved in the long-term. Moreover, governments should also spread awareness about the consequences of non-renewable energy and provide incentives for those utilising electric vehicles and public transport. A clear example of this can be seen in Ireland, where the government gives 2000 euros to whoever purchases an electric car. In conclusion, despite individuals holding different points of view. I believe it is essential for governments to focus on decreasing climate pollution and household challenges as much as possible in order to reduce illnesses and diseases.