The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

I will be writing an essay on the topic of whether workers must have short weeks so weekend can be extended. My stance is more towards disagreeing with this statement and I will provide the reasons why. First of all, 5 weekdays have always been the right average for people since a long time ago. Thus, it shows that having 5 days is the perfect amount of time to get your work done. Because one individual’s work is related to either the whole company or the public, having less days may interrupt with other people’s life or their job as well. For example, if someone works for a private company as an accountant and if he or she cannot report his or her financial calculations on time, the whole company’s operations might delay. Secondly, having more time to rest might affect one’s work performance. If we all had 3rd weekend, starting the first day of work we might experience more laziness and unproductiveness. This is related to how our brain gets used to doing nothing. Furthermore, many studies highlight on how having an additional day to rest can lead to ineffectiveness at workplace. Although, having more days to relax may sound good, but in practice it’s the opposite. To conclude, having short week may not be better than having long week.