The best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There have been conflicting views regarding the issue of whether providing enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks. This paper will analyze the leading contentions made on both sides and it will show why the stance that it is the best way to solve the housing problem is better grounded. Many people believe that building tall apartment blocks isn' t the best way to solve the housing problem. However, while this view is flawed, it is not without merit. In fact, proponents of this view have a cogent argument that most young adults can' t afford these apartments. This is because taller apartments mean higher prices. A limited volume of evidence appears to show that in China most young people don' t have their own houses, because they don' t have much money to buy them. While there is limited evidence supporting this stance, a great deal of research has produced conflicting results. In light of this, it is clear that this view must be rejected. An alternative perspective that holds greater weight is that tall apartments allow more people to live in a small space. One of the most compelling arguments for this perspective is that most cheaper houses have only six floors with three households on each floor, which is fundamentally based on most houses built in the '90s when we didn' t have as much population. Recent research from Japan supports this perspective, as apartments built after 2000 have sixteen floors with four households on each floor, which allows hundreds of people to live in one building. In my view, this line of reasoning is sound and deserves consideration. Another persuasive argument to support this stance is that building tall apartments allows a city to use more land to develop the economy. This is due to the fact that in developing countries the economy needs to build shopping centers, which means needing more land. In support of this argument, researchers from China found that a shopping center can bring more funds than a house in the same area. In my opinion, this is completely solid and well-supported by the evidence. Therefore, it is important to consider this argument when examining this issue. There is no denying that the question of whether the best way to provide enough homes in large cities is to build tall apartment blocks generates a great deal of controversy. However, after careful examination, the main arguments presented in this essay have clearly demonstrated that this is the best way to solve the housing problem and is more reliable. In my opinion, this viewpoint deserves my full support.