Nowadays, most of the information is available on the Internet, whereas in the past, knowledge was stored in books and on paper. Do you think the advantages of this situation outweigh its disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that information requires great consideration when it comes to its availability and storage. While people find a significant amount of knowledge on the internet, in the past, there were books and papers where information can be stored.I strongly believe that the advantages of the internet, such as providing more affordable and efficient access to information, far outweigh its drawbacks, including the risk of spreading misinformation. This essay will elaborate on both sides and my position with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, the internet is an accessible tool for anyone who wants to improve their knowledge about a topic, which books cannot accomplish. People can use search engines, such as Google, for free to find very specific details on the internet, allowing them to shorten their research time and look into other information sources. For instance, rather than purchasing expensive books and going to a library, students can connect to the internet from home and download PDFs of books they cannot afford to buy, for free, on Google Scholar. Therefore, the internet provides not only time-saving opportunities, but also budget-friendly options, which books cannot offer. On the other hand, one of the main drawbacks of the internet in terms of information is that misinformation can swiftly spread through some unreliable sources. This is because there is no authority to check whether each piece of information is true or fake, which allows some users to edit and share fake news and misinformation. To illustrate, Wikipedia is a public information website where users can contribute to topics; however, some information becomes unreliable due to the lack of regulations. Thus, misinformation forces people to check other online sources to verify the reliability of the information, whereas books are already verified before being published. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of the internet, I firmly maintain that online sources can provide many considerable opportunities for anyone. Since most of them are free to use and help people manage their research time, these advantages outweigh the drawbacks of misinformation.