IELTS 17 Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is claimed that some children spend time on their smartphones daily nowadays. This essay will examine the main causes of this issue and discuss why this situation is negative.

There are a variety of causes for this matter. To begin with, due to the demands of work, parents may have limited time to spend with their children. As a consequence, the children may become more reliant on their phones because they have more unsupervised time. Another contributing factor to mention is that smartphones contain a lot of entertainment content. Moreover, it appeals to children and hooks them, making them intrigued by funny videos, etc... For example, children can encounter memes, knowledge, and diverse content on TikTok, Facebook, and YouTube to feel emotionally well.

However, there are several drawbacks to spending time on smartphones every day. A common disadvantage is that children can experience social isolation. In addition, social isolation can prevent them from communicating with society because it limits the opportunities to interact with others. One significant disadvantage is that children can experience cognitive decline when they use smartphones. Excessive smartphone use may reduce children's attention spans and impair their ability to concentrate. For instance, children can be more distracted and less capable of maintaining concentration for extended periods.

In conclusion, children spend time on their smartphones because of their parents' work and the appealing content on smartphones. This issue causes some developmental disadvantages, limiting communication skills and affecting their cognitive development.