In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Due to most countries adapting a capitalistic ideology, we have seen an rise in people making an incredible sum of money. This in return gets quite a few different opinions, on whether it's positive or negative for people to achieve such high salaries. On one hand, people argue that this helps countries to develop economically, but on the other hand, we have those who feel that this is unfair, and plead with the governments to put a limit on how much one can earn. Overall, it's quite hard to decide which side is right, but I think we should praise creative people and let them be awarded for their ingenuity instead of punishing them and limiting their monetary gain, so that the rest of us can earn as much as them.

Firstly, most people earn these high salaries due to their perseverance and brilliant ideas. For instance, Bill Gates who has founded Microsoft, not only worked on his project for a decade until he has seen success, but also donates a huge sum of his earning to charity. So why should we punish those like him who dedicate their life to their passions, which also pay taxes like the rest of us, that in return helps the countries economically? In conclusion, I believe that these hard workers should be praised for how much they contribute to society instead of, stripping them of their monetary value.

Following up, we have the solid argument that they don't require so much economical freedom, that people with a fraction of what they earn are struggling just to survive. To illustrate, the resources held by the top one percent are more than enough to completely fund housing and support systems for most homeless people. While it would definitely be a huge help, i think those who ended up the street have little to no societal impact. So in conclusion, would we really be making the right choice, or just helping those who do not wish to be helped?

In summary, it is quite hard to fully support just one side, as they both have solid arguments. But as I see it, we would only damage our society if we were to strip the financial earnings of those who earned it. In general, i recommend that we should still attempt to help others with just a fraction of the overwhelming resources that some posses, to analyze if it has any positive outcomes, and if this fails we should continue as is.