In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There is an increasing trend of the rural population to move to the cities. As a result, population of the rural areas is decreasing, and of cities is expanding rapidly. This development has advantages as well as disadvantages. In my view, the negative effects outweigh the positive ones.

One of the negative impacts is adverse effects on countries' farming and agriculture industry. If fewer people are involved in agricultural sector, the output of crops might decrease. Similarly, If people are leaving farming, farming industry of a country will suffer. Not only is it harmful to a country's economy, but it also risks food security of a nation. The second issue arising from this trend is the overcrowding of cities, which is putting strain on the public health, housing and other sectors.

On the other hand, it is easier for authorities to provide basic facilities to a relatively smaller area compared to the scattered small communities living hundreds of miles apart. It becomes a real challenge for a government to provide basic ameneties like providing clean water, building health facilities, and developing infrastructure. The other issue is difficulty in implementing law and order and in the crime's control. The previous logic also applies here. These issue are relevant to the developing countries, in particular.

In conclusion, population concentration to the main city centers makes easier for authorities to implement law&order, and to provide the basic necessities. However, the strain on the public systems, and the loss to farming and agriculture industries far outweigh the perceived benefits.