All university undergraduate courses should include a period of time spent studying abroad or doing a work placement. Do you think the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

All undergraduate student courses should include an amount of time in a professional environment or studying abroad. This essay will discuss the benefits, such as a professional background, and the drawbacks, including the stress of working. Whilst acknowledging that there can be disadvantages, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Spending time in a professional environment can be an unforgettable experience. For example, students can choose their dream job. As a result, an undergraduate can reinforce their passion. Students can also create new contacts for potential future jobs. On the other hand, by studying abroad, alumni can discover new cultures and possible new friends, which is a great experience too. Although a working placement has benefits, some people may have different opinions.

Studying in another country can be difficult for some people. For instance, an undergraduate who cannot afford housing, whether it is alone or in a colocation, is in difficulty. Regarding the fact that the university can help families with the problem, daily life can be expensive. That is why studying abroad can be a bad solution. Unfortunately, the placement can create stress, too. After experiencing a professional environment, some can develop a fear of work. Having some conflicts with managers or being tense about doing something wrong can create a lack of motivation for scholars. Therefore, this disadvantage occurs in a minority of people.

To conclude, although some students can have a bad time spent at work or in another country, it is an unforgettable experience. Hence, the positive effects of work placement outweigh the disadvantages.