Some people believe that schools should teach practical skills such as financial management, cooking and basic repairs, instead of focusing mainly on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that institutions should teach practical skills, instead of educating only academic subjects.

I fully agree that students must be taught cooking and financial management skills.

First and foremost, practical skills, such as cooking or managing finance may increase the interest of students to come to school. This is because students who study only academic subjects may be bored, and teaching cookery skills will encourage them to come to school not just to study subjects, but also to do the skills which are beneficial and which they prefer. For example, in the US, students have choices to choose a skill they want to learn. This results in better attendance of students and will encourage them to come to school because lots of students want to take a break from studying, and practical skills can be a solution to take one's mind off things.

Moreover, practical skills are beneficial for students ' future. This is because many students want to study abroad, and the food preparation, which they had learned at schools may help them in another country to cook dishes for themselves. Additionally, financial management skills can help to spend money properly and prevent them not spend money extravagantly. For instance, nowadays, students who know how to cook and live in foreign countries or study there can easily cook food for themselves, even for their groupmates. Which means students can live or study in other countries and can cook for themselves.

In conclusion, I fully agree with people who say that institutions should educate students not only with academic subjects, but with practical skills too.