Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is commonly observed in children that, they get easily influenced by other students of same age, in terms of behaviours and situations. This trend has both merits and demerits. The question that arises is whether there are more positive or negative aspects associated with it? I believe latter outshine the former.

The most significant drawback associated with this is mental health problems. This means, sometimes children facilitates themselves to fit in the activities that are not meant for them just because their mates are participating in it, as a result children feel leftout from the society they are living in. For an instance, children from non-sports bachground compare their skills with the others that are born with sports traits such as flexible body and strong muscles, left non sport background students in anxiety and depression.

Moreover, limited diversity is another considerable reason, as individuals remain surrounded with people they influence rather then explosing and meeting different people from different cultures and diversity. Therefore, students motivation from their friends not only limit their surroundings but also effecting their metal heath.

Even though demerits outweigh, there is advantage that cannot be ignored such as, positive role model. To explain, children follow famous personalities and get influence from them become sucessfull in their life as students walk on the footprints of influencers which facilitates themin attain their selective goals. For example, My friend Gurjit get inspired from one fashion designer Gursimran, and while watching her and enhancing her techniques now Gurjit become a CEO of famous clothing brand. Thus follwing sucessful person assist person in becoming or acheiving their desired goals in life.

That being said, the demerits bought forth by children influenced by thier fellows provides a detrimental impact on them in terms of disturbing thier health and limits their diversity is truly discouraging.