In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The technological advancements in present century has improved connectivity between different places. Some individuals believe that government should spend more on new railway systems, but others believe that existing community transport systems should be approved. I believe that balance approach should be made, and in this upcoming essay I will elaborate on my ideas.

To begin with, the advancement in technology has made inter-city connectivity a lot faster as compared to past. It is believed that fast rail system between different destinations can reduce the travel time, and more economically viable. It is well established that rapid transit systems are environment friendly, and require less maintainence to existing systems. For instance, Bullet train in Japan is running, almost from three decades,and it is more sustainable as compared to traditional systems. It saves money for both the government and general public.

On other hand, new fast railway systems can cost more during construction as compared to the system we already use. The modern fast connectivity system requires complex knowledge and more skilled workers for setting up. Moreover, these new fast railway systems cannot take place of cargo trains,as they are not designed to carry heavy loads. For example, high speed rails only carry cummuters but not cargo. Therefore, we still need to upgrade our existing public transport services. Even roads cannot be replaced by new rail tracks, because it is not possible to build tracks at every place.

In conclusion, government should build new faster railway systems, but also should maintain the existing public transport system.