Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that in the future, enviromental issues will become so grave that life on the planet earth will become impossible. They furture argue that we need to search for another planet for our survival. I agree partially with the argument because environmental challenges are real but they have not reached at the irreversible stage. I disagree with the part about the search of another planet.

First, environmental damage is a present, and a real challenge, the mankind is facing today. There are several factors contributing to it, and almost all are due to the human activities. We are destroying the ecosystem of this planet. There is unchecked cutting of trees happing all over the world. Similary, the water ecosystem is being destroyed by illegal over-fishing. It is the responsibility of governments to inact laws and more importantly implement the laws. We have to start reforestation globally. Second, another closely related issue is the climate change. If we have to point out a single most important contributor, it would the carbon emission. Carbon emission has dramatically increased due to industrialization, population increase, coal use for electricity, transport and fossil fuels. This climate change is increasing our Earth's temperatures, as a result, melting of glaciars, rising of the sea level is happening. All of this is dangerous to the sustainability of life on the Earth.

On the other hand, life on another planet is not possible, according to all the available scientic evidence. Moreover, it won't be possible in the near future. Because the conditions on the other planets studied so far, can't sustain life. Their atmosphere, the lack of water, very low or non existent oxygen would make it impossible for life.

In conclusion, our planet Earth is our home, and we need to protect it. Global efforts are needed to stop the environment damage, and take measures to reverse the already occured damage. Life on another planet is a fantancy, atleast for now.