Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extent do do you agree?

Many people believe that children are not informed enough about the world of work, and schools should provide an opportunity to work for a short period of time along with theoretical subjects.

First of all, developing such an educational system has a lot of benefits for teens. This helps them integrate into the real world of work and understand all the hidden aspects of it. Also, it might reduce their fears about a certain job and offer opportunities to demonstrate their knowledge and skills in practice.

Furthermore, it is crucial to practice before getting a foot in the door because it will give a clear idea of how to earn money and what skills a person needs to have. While it might challenge teenagers’ expectations about working, it also helps to build their own proficiency in a certain area. For instance, working in catering develops communication and negotiation skills, which are essential for a further career.

It is also important to teach pupils how to apply their knowledge in practice because it prepares them for adulthood and for all key features of working. Nevertheless, teachers should explain all aspects clearly enough to teenagers, as they tend to do tasks the way they are told to.

To conclude, I strongly agree with the statement, as working assists children in understanding what they want to do in their lives and demonstrating their ability to cope with hardships along the path. It might be quite challenging at first, but eventually, it will lead to success.