Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In these modern times, most of the children spend their time on their electronic gadgets due to having an addictive features and nature, rather than

spending time on activities that can contribute to their development. This essay takes a balanced stance that smart devices can have either positive or negative effects

on a young person.

Smart gadgets like smartphones and electronic devices can contribute positively to a child's psychological development during adolescence. Online mind-challenging games can contribute to thinking more creatively and analytically to solve complex real-world problems. For example, in games like chess or crossword puzzles, it takes patience and strategy throughout the game. Secondly, usage of mobile devices can enhance, communication and critical thinking skills through online social media debates on trending topics. For example, many teenagers are awaiting the anticipated release of block buster game, GTA 6 which has led to rise in conspiracy theories around the game. Analyzing all information, and then presenting the right information takes a special skills.

On the other hand, smart electronics can have negative effects on brain development,as they can hinder social skills for personal growth. Most young pupils will have an inability to socialise or interact, due to a lack of exposure to face-to-face meetings, which can adversely affect their personality and their place in the world. Furthermore,young pupils may be exposed to adult content and information at an early age, which may cause harm to their brain activity and may prevent them not function properly in the real world. In addition,exposing young people to such explicit visual information will make them have unrealistic expectation from opposite gender, resulting in unhealthy relationships, and would objectify them instead.

In conclusion, daily usage of smartphones by children can have heavy negative effects on brain development of pupils, whereas there are some positive developments in the children's brain functionality with the usage of mobile phones. In my view, it is better to contribute development through other activities, than to be exposed to negative side effects at an early age.