In some countries, there are many social problems involving teenagers. This is because parents spend much of their time at work not at home. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether the abscence of parents at home because of long working hours is causing an increase in social problems involving teenagers is a topic of considerable debate. In this essay, i will explan why i strongly disagree with this statement.

Parents have always worked, it is not a new problem. Many people can recall their parents working endless hours, specially in families with economic struggles. Implying that this statement is the main reason would simplify a much more complex issue.

In the past, children used to be exposed to the world gradually. Initially they would only interact with family members, then neighbourhood friends, primary school after that, high school and so on. They would gradually learn how to cope with emotions and gain some experience, escalating as they were prepared. Nowadays, in the internet era and the social media fever, we live in a globalized world. Since they are aware of their surroundings children are exposed to things they are not prepared yet. Moreover, social media sells them a totally unrealistic life, and when comparing it with their own they tend to feel overwhelmed and even worthless.

Parents's and children´s relationship has also changed. In our days parents are accused of being over protective as a result of their kids being over exposed. While they should be gradually gaining some independence, children rely too much on their parents. I does not end with the end of teenage years. There was a study that stated that more parents where getting involved in their kids´s college life and even jobs.

To sum up, i believe that social problems regarding teenagers are related to a change in lifestyle due to globalization and social media.