Some experts say for road safety, governments should encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people believe that the government should push the idea of using bicycles in place of cars. There are many advantages to using bicycles instead of cars. However, the disadvantages ultimately outweigh the benefits.

One major advantage of introducing bicycles is reducing the risk of road accidents because bicycles are slower which leads to less traffic collisions. For instance in Dammam the government has introduced more bike lanes and have reported less auto wrecks. Although this advantage is a vital one there are so many disadvantages that make this advantage not relevant. There are a plethora of drawbacks when it comes to relying on bicycles instead of cars, but there are some important ones that stand out. Bicycles are impractical for long distances because they take a lot of energy to reach far distances which are achieved faster by car, also that there are a lot of people that live far from work,school or any place they might want to visit so it would be hard to commute using a bicycle. There is also the issue of the weather, the weather tends to change frequently which makes it hard to predict, therefore it would not be practical to ride a bicycle everywhere you go, it will be hard to arrive anywhere given the circumstances making cycling unbearable whether it be the scorching heat of summer or the cold of winter.

In conclusion although, there are some advantages to cycling its vulnerability to weather and its impracticality to reach far places requiring a sum of energy makes it obvious that the car is superior. Therefore the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.