Buying things on the internet, such as books, air ticket and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last decade it has become almost normal to purchase anything online. In this essay I will express the advantages and of disadvantages of our modern consumerism.

The primary advantage of shopping online is that you don' t have to leave your house and whatever products you have purchased will be sent to your house. This is very convinient, for example buying new cloths, the items that don' t fit can easily be sent back and don' t have to be paid for. It safes time and also makes plane tickets cheaper if you don' t have to pay a person selling them to you and instead comparing different airline companies with each other and buying the best deal. Furthermore, wanting to eat a meal from a restaurant means that cravings or other wishes can be almost fulfilled immediately.

On the other hand, because online shopping has grown so much over the last years so did packaging and transport for delivery service. This has created not only more waste but also also an entire new shopping culture where desires are exptected to be sastisfied instantly. For instance, when something is not available people are becoming inpatient or even annoyed at a company. Therefore more traditional shops have to close their business because its expensive to sell from a physical place and pay salaries to employes when instead they could sell it online for less.

In conclusion, despite the risk of loosing jobs and real human interactions I believe that having access to shopping products online means that the customer holds the responsibility how he wants to buy and what are the values he stands for.