Students should be allowed to choose academic courses or practical courses, e.g carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this advanced generation, young adults should be provided an option to choose what they want to study, whether it's an academic course or learning a practical skill. In the essay below, I will provide some reasons why it should be allowed and how it will help students and our society.

Academic courses are the courses that are usually offered by universities in various fields and departments. They provide a list of subjects and a curriculum that the student must follow and should clear all subjects in order to get a degree. On the other hand, most of the institutes and colleges do not offer practical courses, e.g., carpenters, mechanics, electricians, plumbers and others. These skills are usually considered odd, and people who do such jobs are mostly from the lower class. If we think more open-mindedly, these skills are lifesavers and people, whether they want to continue it or not, as a profession should learn it. Additionally, Summer time during vacations is the best time in my opinion to learn some hard skills, as it will not affect studies. It will also help students decide more clearly what path they want to follow in future.

There is another side as well, in our society, if someone goes for a higher education, they would want to learn something that will help them land a full-time proper job. The question is, who will opt for these practical courses? Higher authorities should offer small program for 1-2 months for these practical skills, as it will help the youth to have the talent that will save them so much money in the long run. Furthermore, this way students can implement and use them as a side hustle or a part-time job. For example, a financially struggling student, who is currently studying a course in Artificial Intelligence, also learns more about fixing vehicles. This is why he cannot only fix smaller issues in his car or bike, but can also work part-time as a mechanic at a petrol pump to save some dollars.

To summarise, I fully agree with the statement and the universities should at least offer practical courses, and in each program, at least one practical course should be mandatory for a student to learn. This way, individuals could learn a variety of skills, academic as well as the real necessary ones.