Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is argued that success only comes from high salaries. I completly disagree with the statement, since I believe success to be a subjective concept, not only measurable through the amount of money earned.

Firstly, having a successful career is not a high priority for everybody. While many believe that achieving financial stability and having good job prospects is the only way to succeed, others might prioritize freedom of movement and life experience. Indeed, recent studies have shown that an increasing number of young people prefer working part-time, relocating and changing career path often, aiming for a better work/life balance. Consequently, the amount of money earned and saved loses points in the scale of priorities, overtaken by free time and travelling.

Moreover, other people might choose a career path that gives high job sadisfaction but very little financial rewards. For example, teachers are notoriously underpaid in many countries, but still many people choose teaching as their profession because they are passionate about young people education and upbringing. Therefore, for them success in not measured by their financial status, but by the impact they can have on children.

Finally, having a happy family could also be the way some people measure their success. While having a job is necessary to support a family, it is not true that a lot of money are needed for it to be successful. For instance, a family with two children, and parentes with regular jobs, can still be happy and live, overall, a nice life. Moreover, scholarships and government's funds can give kids from different backgrounds and less privilaged situations, the same opportunities that healthier families have.

In conclusion, I believe that the way people measure success varies, and it certainly can not be limited to the amount of money earned, since it largely depends on people's goals, dreams and objectives.