In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the phenomenon of people moving into urban areas, the population in the countryside is decreasing. In my opinion, it is a positive development. There are two reasons, first, children may enjoy well-developed education system in urban cities. Second, the wildlife may get a break from the disturbance of human development.

First and foremost, children of rural areas may access better education. Taking an example of China, a lot of children in rural areas have relatively less educational resources than children living in Beijing or Shanghai. This implies the potential lack of talents in rural areas, as their ability might not be well developed without the support of resources. Hence, it will lead to a potential loss in human resources for the country in the foreseeable future. Therefore, rural people moving to cities can create opportunities for rural area citizens to shine, thus the chance for countries to develop potential talented.

Secondly, with less population living around the countryside, the pollution made by human to the environment will be improved. For example, our mother Earth could take a break from the disturbance of human living activities, and by time, living things may once enjoy the countryside again, without the pollution of sound, light, etc. Plants may also grow as human stop the reclamation on the countryside. It may enhance environmental friendly better, allowing the Earth to cover up with more green plants.

Nevertheless, there would be a loss of rural traditions and culture. In China, a minority ethnic Miao, is a renowned example of culture in countrysides. They own special traditional clothings, but if they moved to urban areas, their offspring would have to follow rules and regulations at normal schools, where they cannot wear their traditional clothes to the school, but in unified uniforms. This may lead to a potential loss in cultural heritage of their tradition. It would then be a great loss to the world as it is listed in intangible cultural heritage of the world.