Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. how true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays almost everyone who lives in developed countries owns a car. We cannot state the same for the past, at least not for all the areas. In this essays we will go through the way in which the ownership of cars increased over the past 30 years and we will see some actions that could be undertaken in order to make the people opt for a different transport. Going back by 30 years the number of car-owners was substantially less than the current one, this was due mainly to two factors. Firstly cars were still considered a sort of niche product because of its quite high price, so that only wealthy people could afford it. Secondly, even if some of the middle class people were able to a vehicle the average was surely not higher than one per family, because in any case it would have been useless for a family own more than a car. Today, however, the scenario is completely changed: every family owns on average two cars, because they are cheaper and many ways for financing the purchase are available for almost everyone. That growth in the car-users is bringing many traffic problems, especially in the big cities. Nevertheless, there are some ways thanks to which the authorities can incentivize people to choose alternative way for moving. Increasing the rides of the busses and their stops at a lower ticket price is one of the best way to do so, as people will have a valid and cheap alternative for moving around the city. Another example could be increasing the number of bicycle roads following the Netherlands pattern To conclude, it is true that the exponential growth of the car-owners is giving lot of traffic problems, but is up to the authorities trying to discourage the use of vehicle offering a range of different alternative to the people.