It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History has an important role to play in the knowledge acquisition process of children. While I agree that learning local history is important, I also contend that world history should not be overlooked because of the benefits it brings to children. On the one hand, studying local history pays dividends for the growth of a child. Facts and figures in textbooks can help these young individuals to pay homage to former soldiers and ancestors who had sacrificed their lives for the independence of the country. Students may also learn their origins and cultures though historical lessons, which reminds them of their roots and contributes to an all-round education. In Vietnam, for example, historical lessons are included in the curriculum of all school levels, and this helps to instil love for the country into young people. Needless to say, history has become an essential part of the education system in Vietnam. On the other hand, it is wrong to neglect the teaching of world history. As the world has become more open, today’s global citizens should learn more about other countries and regions to assimilate into the global community. For instance, many Vietnamese students may find it exhilarating to know that English people fled to America and formed a great country, and for this reason, the people of the two countries speak the same language and have many cultures in common. Studying the world ’s history also broadens children’s horizon, and they can learn to accept divergent cultures and customs that exist, making life more interesting. In conclusion, it is necessary for children to develop a passion for both local and world history in contemporary society. There should be no comparison between the two areas of the subject because they contribute equally to the overall development of a child.