Education for young people is important in many countries. However, the others think government should spend more money for education in adult population who cannot read and write”. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The focus of education has long been a subject of heated debate around the world. While some people hold the view that special attention should be directed towards illiterate adults, others place emphasis on youth education. Although well aware of the significant importance of improving adult literacy, I am of the opinion that the majority of educational resources should be allocated to young learners. On the one hand, it is of necessity that the governments put an end to the perennial problem of adult illiteracy. Poor literacy and numeracy skills prove the major obstacles to occupational mobility. More specifically, it is an irrefutable fact that in Vietnam, a considerable number of agricultural workers are unable to move from traditional manual jobs to skilled manual jobs or non-manual jobs due to a lack of education. Accordingly, the ever-persisting problem poses a grave threat to the well-being of individuals and development of the economy. On the other hand, mobilizing financial resources to increase the quality of youth education is much more important than to resolve adult illiteracy. First, since children are the future pillars of the nation, the neglect of education for youngsters leads to far-reaching consequences by creating a new generation of low-quality human resources, which in turn impedes economic growth. Moreover, as the young’s ability to learn is normally better than that of adults, youth education proves more beneficial and effective than adult education in the long term. To recapitulate, although I concur that actions should be taken to eradicate adult illiteracy and innumeracy, I would reaffirm that more attention ought to be paid towards youth education.