Modern building change the character and appearance of towns and cities.The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modernity is one of the characteristic feature of every developed country. Therefore, one of the noticeable things that make up cities and towns of well-developed countries is their houses. I am in complete agreement that new modernized houses transform the face of every metropolis for the following reasons: Firstly, it is an undisputed fact that new houses of different styles and structure epitomize the beauty of cities. Hence, it attracts tourism. Admittedly, people tour cities to sight the quintessential houses and take pictures therein. This also boosts the economy of the country as tourists budget a lot of money to be spent in such cities. A vivid example of such a place is United Arab Emirates. In Dubai, houses are built in different styles and designs. As part of their policies, houses of ten years old are demolished to erect new ones and this commonly attract people into their country. Secondly, it is a well-known fact that stylishly built houses create uniqueness. If every building have their own design and structure, it indirectly helps in proper identification. For instance, in Victoria Island, Lagos, the way and manner houses were built in the referenced places help visitors a great deal in easy identification of where they are going to. This avoids delays in movement. In the event that Government allow people to erect houses having a common design and built in a conventional sense, it will definitely make the place less attractive and boring. People will find it very uninteresting to visit the said places which will eventually discourage tourism. In conclusion, I am therefore of the firm view that Government should ensure that houses are built using different designs for uniqueness and to make various towns beautiful. This will create a beautiful city and enhance tourism.