Nowadays, many families have both parents working. Some working parents believe other family members like grandparents can take care of their children, while others think childcare centres provide the best care. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views as to who is the best caregiver for children when their parents are busy working. While some argue that these children should be taken care of by their grandparents, I believe that they should be sent to nursery schools. One the one hand, there are several reasons why some might argue that it is a good idea to have grandparents look after their offspring. Firstly, it will help working parents save money if their kids are taken care of by their grandparents. Meanwhile, it may cost a half of one parent’s salary to send their children to childcare centres. This amount of money can be better saved for their children’s future life. Secondly, grandparents are often experienced in raising their offspring, so parents who are busy working may rest assure that their kids are in good hands. For example, grandparents may know how to calm a baby down when he cries. This example shows that they know how to take a good care of their grandchildren. On the other hand, I support the view that it is a better idea to send children to childcare centres. The primary reason is that these centres provide a professional environment where the staff are well trained and qualified, and facilities are modern. This is an ideal environment for children to be taken care of and develop their creativity and logical thinking, while they may not be exposed to such facilities if they are kept at home. Another reason is that they have opportunities to develop their language abilities and communication skills in nursery schools. This is because they can make new friends, talk and play with them day by day. If they are looked after by their family at home, they might not have the chance to improve these skills. In conclusion, although there are some benefits to grandparents taking care of their grandchildren, it is my view that it is more beneficial for kids to be looked after by childcare centres.