Many people now have the freedom to work and live anywhere because of advances in communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Throughout our history, man has wandered to newer lands and fertile river beds in search of occupational stability. The dawn of the 21st century has brought tremendous changes in technology which has had serious implications on human connections, mobility and work cultures. This era of hyper connectivity has certainly had a negative impact on the lives of the working man. The widespread availability of mobile networks has led to a scenario where we feel obligated to be connected to our work lives at all times, at the expense of our free time. This could be detrimental to our overall output of productivity as we lack the kind of disconnection from work that previous generations may have enjoyed. Another negative impact of this situation is the phenomenon termed “brain drain”, wherein the intellectual class of a developing nation seeks greener pastures in developed countries, in search of a better standard of living. However, the benefits definitely overshadow the disadvantages in this context. The ability to instantly interact with anyone has led to businesses developing better, more efficient workflows. The synchronous development of technology and communications has helped in expanding companies at an unprecedented. It is all thanks to this rapid progress that a man residing in Tokyo may conduct meetings with clients all over the world through a video conference on Skype. The increasing economic feasibility of international travel has also benefitted the working class man as well. A notable example of this is the migration of skilled labourers from the Indian state of Kerala to certain middle eastern countries. In conclusion, I can surmise that the post industrial era will go down in history books as the age of human collaboration, communication and technological revolution. The benefits we reap from these developments will lead to greater economic freedom, occupational flexibility and mobility for future generations.