Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent times, the work ethics of people have changed a lot. This may be due to the increased level of competition in the labor a social class comprising those who do manual labor or work for wages labour market. As a result, some people spend more time at work which then hits into their personal time for hobbies. While this is beneficial in terms of career advancement, the demerits also have to be considered. On the one hand, putting in extra hours at work increase the possibility of growing in one’s field. This is because a lot of employers, especially in developing countries like Nigeria, see this act as a sign of commitment to the job. For example, my girlfriend who works in a commercial bank insists on closing at 5 pm as stipulated in her employment letter because she love to visit the gym every evening. When the result of her first year performance appraisal was released, she got a very bad rating from her supervisor while her colleague, who does not leave earlier than 7 pm, got a promotion. In addition, working overtime provides the opportunity to earn more money, especially for people that get paid per hour. This makes it possible to save up and finance special projects they could, hitherto, not afford. On the other hand, sacrificing time meant for spare time activities has its disadvantages. Leisure activities give employees a chance to unwind from all work related stress. This is not only beneficial to employees, because they are healthier, but also to the benefit of the employers as staff are able to put in their best during work hours. An overwhelming number of studies show that workers who work a maximum of 40 hours every week are significantly more productive than those who work overtime. This is why some structured organizations make it compulsory, by turning off all internet facilities, to leave the office as required by their policy. In conclusion, although working overtime at the expenses of their spare time earns people more money and possible recognition at work, it reduces their over efficiency. In my opinion, a work -life balance is essential for everybody’s wellbeing, and overworking should therefore be discouraged by all means. Employers, maybe as a sign of commitment to employee welfare, should even consider sponsoring hobbies of their staff.