8.A. In some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products. Do you think it is positive or negative development?

In the highly competitive era of today, marketers such as restaurants and supermarkets have realized the marketing opportunity towards schools & collages and are investing money in such places to promote their products. Though this sponsorship may bring some positive benefits to schools and its students, it has significant detrimental impacts towards student’s health and the budget of the family in the long run. Admittedly, schools and colleges receive some benefits because of this sponsorship by fast-food companies. One obvious benefit is that these institutions receive a handsome amount from this sponsorship and invest this money to improve its infrastructure by constructing, for example, a modern computer lab, computerized classrooms, better library facilities, and well equipped sports facilities. Furthermore, the consequence of improved infrastructure helps schools and colleges to provide a better learning and to be able to fetch good results from its students. As a Thus, However, In spite of having some benefits, there are some long-term adverse effects exerted by advertisements of fast-food products. Firstly, adverts of fast food and their availability in the school premises would help children to develop a taste for such foods. To make it more appealing, the producers of this food use some additives, for instance, tasting salt and extra fat all of which are deleterious to our health. This is considered the root cause of obesity and other health problems among the students in the long run. Secondly, Commercialization in the academic environment has negative impacts on the school students. Advertisements are produced in such a persuasive way that lures children to force their parents to buy this fast-food. As these foods are high in price, such extra cost puts a strain on the family budget. Thus, the promotion of fast foods has some significant negative influences in the health of a student and the budget of a family. In conclusion, though educational institutes derive some possible benefits from the sponsorships of fast food companies and supermarkets, there are serious negative repercussions caused by this persuasive promotion towards students. Thus, this is more of a negative development than positive