Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does the advantages of this situation outweighed the disadvantages?

The work -life balance is a crucial aspect of life. Lots of individuals work for a long time and do not allocate time for leisure activities. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend are far more than the positive outcomes. There are two main benefits of this approach. To begin with, employees working for long hour’s results in a high productivity in the workforce environment. This is because it helps in keeping focus highly on tasks at hand, which, in turn, results in an efficiency at work. Indeed, the goals which are achieved through the devoting time is beneficial for a company. A report from Oxford University, for instance, showed that employees working extra hours at the workplaces are 20% highly productive than their colleagues who do not opt for it. Furthermore, employees can acquire promotion early. Working more than the require time leads to achieving goals significantly, which would be critical for employers to consider the flourishing the worker’s career-ladder. However, there are some downsides with this trend. Firstly, imbalance in the work -life results in a no proper family life. This is due to the work priorities, which leads to the unhealthy family relationships and is also highly likely to result in a broken relationship. Secondly, working for excessive hours has adverse effects on health. If a person work a full day and even for extra hours, as well as do not opt for any physical activity, it would result in major health issues. It is evident that a sedentary lifestyle owing to the long hours working leads to obesity, heart diseases and depression. Research indicates, for example, that anxiety and obesity in Asian working people is 75% due to their excessive hours of working. In conclusion, in my view, while working for long hours without opting for any leisure activity has benefits such as productivity at work and promotions, which are far outweighed by its downsides mainly damaging family relationships and deteriorating health.