University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is of utmost importance and helps a person prosper in his career. It is considered by some that university education should be made available to everyone irrespective of their financial capabilities. This essay will discuss why I completely agree with the above-mentioned statement. To begin with, universities spend an enormous amount of money in maintaining the infrastructure and quality of teaching. Also, universities are constantly expanding and evolving their teaching methods. A significant part of the money is provided by the students in the form of fees. Besides, most of the students are hired after completing their university education. Thus, a section of the population is of the opinion that students should pay fees for the universities to run effectively and to maintain their desired teaching standards. On the other hand, free university education would bring parity within the society, it will also help the economically weaker sections of the society. Firstly, all underprivileged students who wanted to study, but otherwise couldn’t afford would benefit by such a move. Furthermore, this would result in a higher literacy rate, and would benefit the nation in the long run. For instance, Denmark has been successful in implementing such a move and not only has one of the most stable economies in Europe, but also a high literacy rate. In addition, at times parents cannot afford hefty university fees for courses like engineering and medicine, and this would hamper the child’s future as they cannot study a subject of their interest. Thus, due to the above-mentioned advantages it entails, charging tuition fees is completely preposterous. To conclude, in today’s world university education should be made available to individuals across all sections of the society. As universities charge enormous fees, which cannot be afforded by everyone. I firmly believe that remedial measures should be taken, and the government should fund the universities and make university education free for everyone.