It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no consensus as to how soon after school a person should go for higher education. However, these days, more and more people opt to stay off school for a year between secondary school and university. The benefits and drawbacks of this practice will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, taking a break off academic pursuits before higher education can help the student have some time to invest in money-making the act of making money (and accumulating wealth) moneymaking money-market. The financial implication of attending a university can be quite burdensome and having time to make some money before studies begin will be a most welcome development for most people. For instance, a survey by Harvard campus-life journals showed that most first -year students made money doing some form of work before the academic session started. This example highlights one of the merits of taking time off before university life. Besides, the time before an academic program commences can be invested in learning more about the intended course of study, resulting in the student consequently having a better understanding of the discipline. An example of this is seen in medical students who sometimes take a year off before resumption to volunteer in hospitals. These students eventually have a higher pass rate than their colleagues. Again, this shows that the one year break before university studies begin can be of immense help to the student. On the other hand, there are a few setbacks to this trend that are worth considering. Firstly, the academic vacuum may be perceived as an opportunity to pursue things unrelated, and sometimes, unfortunately, inimical to the academic goals and future aspirations of the student. As an example, forty-five out of fifty university students who were questioned for their involvement in online scam said they were first introduced into it during their pre- university years, after secondary school, and as a result, their interest in academics began to wane. This instance goes to show how taking time off before university can expose the student to things that will eventually veer him or her off course. Moreover, the danger of exposure to unhealthy influence by peers is another significant demerit of this arrangement. Most students make friends during this period of academic life and are open to influence from such relationships, influences which may negatively impact their lives. In conclusion, although taking time off before university life starts has its merits, there are also setbacks to it. Individuals should take time to consider both sides before making a decision.