The percentage of overweight children children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade. discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The proportion of obese youngsters in the western world has surged by 20% in the last decade. Some of the reasons responsible for this situation are ignorant parents and eating habits of some children. Consequently, there are some negative effects of this situation. One of the main reasons why there is a rise in the number of chubby children is the fact that some parents are oblivious of the adverse effects of excess weight-gain in children. They feel when the children are fat, it reflects their affluence and makes people know that such offsprings are well taken care of. Another point is the eating habits of these young ones. Within the last decennary a reference book containing an alphabetical list of words with information about them dictionary, there seems to have been a hike in the eating appetite of these little ones. This is due to the fact that new food products emerge frequently and they always want to have a taste of these products. For example, we have more variety of food and cookies nowadays than we had about a century ago, so naturally the quest for them is unavoidable. Unfortunately, the adverse effects of obesity in children can be dangerous and sometimes life-threatening. One of the side effects is the health condition known as Diabetes. A diabetic child if not properly cared for can die before the age of twenty, because he or she cannot eat normally as other children. There are medications to be taken consistently, and any inconsistency in taking the prescribed drugs can result in death. Additionally, children who are fat most times suffer from low self-esteem. This is because other children make jest of them in places like schools. In some cases, these obese young ones keep to themselves because they lack the courage to play with others and make friends. In conclusion, there is a significant rise in the portion of little ones who look bigger than their age. Some reasons are responsible for this situation, and some of the effects include health conditions and low self-esteem among the young ones.