Some people think that universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of whether the course useful to an employer. What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university.

It is important to consider the main function of tertiary institutions. While some believe that the aim of the university should be to grant access to knowledge for its own sake, I will argue that the central function of the university should be to equip graduates with the practical skills and theoretical knowledge required to succeed in the work environment. To begin with, one reason why I am in agreement that the main aim of the university should be to produce competent graduates ready to fit into the industries is that the employee will find it much easier to work in the specific industry having done most of the practical and theoretical work while in school. For example, an aerospace engineer from Stanford University, having been equipped with the skills and knowledge will not have much problems working in the aerospace industries. However, if graduates are not equipped with the ability to function effectively upon graduation, then there will be a shortage of skill labour and as a consequence, low productivity. Furthermore, another reason why I agree completely is that the university should be able to produce competent researcher to work in research institutes. For instance, these researchers should be able provide vaccines that can be able to cure diseases like the ongoing research being conducted on the Ebola disease. In contrast, if the university is unable to produce competent researchers, hence the world will be plagued with many diseases without a cure, as a result there will be many lost of lives. In conclusion, due to the importance of equipping graduates and researchers with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace to perform effectively, I believe that under no circumstance should the university deviate from this.