More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The recent development in the technological area has been very beneficial for the society. These days it is common to observe children spending significant amounts of time on electronic devices such as computers and tablets. Many people like to believe that children spending more time on electronic devices can improve their technology skills. However, I believe that this development has more disadvantages. The benefit of this development is that it will keep children occupied. There is no doubt that raising children and taking care of them can be stressful at times for parents so allowing them to play on a device means that the parents can have a break and not have to continually entertain them. This could potentially mean improved family relationships. However, there are downsides to this.  Nowadays, children spend too much time on these electronic devices which can cause health problems like reducing eye vision.Studies also indicate children using these devices may have more difficulty sleeping, something which is crucial for mental development. In addition, two this children's free time can be better utilised with other activities. Although they may learn some technological skills, they mostly just play games, and in any case computer skills are now taught in school. Of much more benefit is encouraging children to spend their free time interacting with other children, playing with normal toys, and playing other games outside, which will foster their creative, cognitive, and social skills. In conclusion, though there are more drawbacks of allowing children to use computers and tablets.While it may give parents more time, it could damage their mental and physical development.