Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, foreign organizations are being set up at a rapid rate in third world countries. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of the aforementioned occurence an event that happens occurrence. The influx of international establishments has lead to an increase in investments, leading to employment opportunities, and helping boost innovation; this is a positive development for the country. There is an imminent problem with under-developed societies, in that they are regarded as "consumers" while the developed countries are the "producers"; with the establishment of international institutions, cultural practices and characteristics of the host country can blend and benefit from the innovative nature of their developed counterparts. For instance, companies like Coca Cola being set-up in a country such as Nigeria, have aided in providing employment for the masses, as well as presenting solutions to certain societal issues through corporate social responsibility campaigns. However, a demerit to be associated with this, is the danger of losing traditions and intricate cultural values, due to merging of the different cultures. For example, a situation whereby the establishment increases the number of expatriates, resulting in a blend of cultures from constant interaction, can cause native residents of the country to forget age old traditions in full embrace of the dominant party's culture. To summarize, foreign organizations aid the economy positively by providing employemnt the state of being employed or having a job employment opportunities and learning experiences, but can be detrimental to the traditions and history of the host society.