Grandparents play a big role in bringing up the children. Do you think it is useful for grandparents? Discuss reasons with your opinion and give relevant examples.

The trend of grandparents being responsible for bringing up their grandchildren is being increasingly witnessed these days. In this essay, I shall discuss the reason why I believe this is largely a positive development even though there are a few potential and minor drawbacks associated with this development. There are numerous compelling reasons why looking after their grandchildren is beneficial for grandparents and the prominent one is that youngsters can be a good companion for the elders as their children tend to have a hectic work schedule in order to keep up with the fast development of the society, so they won’t able to spend enough time with their family which could have detrimental effects to the old generation’s mental health. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan has revealed that the elders who lack of companionship always suffer from various illnesses, such as depression and insomnia. Therefore, they can benefit a lot from taking care of the children. However, every coin has two sides. The main negative consequence of this tendency is that older people may struggle to control and discipline the young generation as it is a very exhausting work to do. Take myself for example, my niece has been living with my parents for 3 years because her parents always work overtime and it is difficult for my parents to help my niece finishing her homework on time every day. As a result, the elders can be adversely affected by this tendency. To sum up, youngster being raised up by their grandparents is ubiquitous in recent years. Taking everything into consideration, I’m inclined to say that the positive points of this trend surpass the negative aspects.