Findings show that many criminals have low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate criminals in prisons so that they can get job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Researches have shown that many criminals have little education. Hence, it is believed by some people that the education of criminals in prison would help to reduce crime and they can be gainfully employed. I disagree with this notion as criminals are often influenced negatively in prison, while the stigmatization of criminals, prevent them from working and they return to crime. First of all, a major reason why many ex-convicts reoffend money returned to a payer refund is due to the bad influences when they are serving their sentence. Prisons often house a wide range of criminals, including hardened ones who can introduce others to other forms of crime, as well as link them up with lawbreakers outside the prison. For example, many drug traffickers in Nigeria were introduced to this crime when they were serving prison sentences. Thus, educating criminals so as to be employed is not significant to reduce crime since many criminals return to crime rather than been involved in legitimate businesses. Furthermore, the stigmatization of ex-convicts prevent them from being employed. Many prospective employers do not want to employ those with record of crime, while many employees often remind these people of their past acts. For example, a report by the Times revealed that a major factor responsible for reoffending money returned to a payer refunding offending is the stigmatization of ex-convicts. Therefore, many criminals would return to crime despite receiving education in prisons due to stigmatization. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that the education of criminals is the best way of reducing crime, owing to the fact that many had bad influences while in prison and their stigmatization makes it difficult for them to get jobs. Efforts geared towards enlightening policy makers about this view should be promoted.