Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers.Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days food travels many miles, as the farmer's export their food across the world to satisfy the consumer demand. Although some people think stopping this practise would benefit the economy and the environment, I believe the negative impacts would not justify such a change. We can benefit from stopping the import of food in two ways. In relation to the environment, transporting food involved the use of thousands of lorries and many flights, which contributes to pollution given all the emission this produces. This also negatively affects the health of the people and leads to global warming. In addition, to this stopping this practise will mean that people will only buy local food, leading to a boost to the local economies as farmers will become more profitable as they sell more. However, there are downsides to this. A problem these days, many countries, particularly developing countries, rely on exports of their produce. Countries often have acres of land where production of export products takes place, which helps in providing income to the farmers, but also provides work for thousands of people working on farms. Furthermore, people these days have become dependent on ingredients from other countries and without it people can no longer cook their favourite recipes and many restaurants that depend on exports may go out of business. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Despite the fact that stopping the exports can have a positive impact on the environment, the negative economic impact on the farmers and the people whose lively hoods depends on export goods would be detrimental.