There are people who suffer from poverty in every country. What do you think the reasons for poverty are in your country and what do you think can be done to help these impoverished people?

Many people are suffering from poverty all over the world. Although my country, Japan, is one of the world’s most developed and wealthiest countries, there are still many people who suffer from relative poverty. This is mainly because of academic background-oriented society and the increasing number of single-parent families. However, there are some solutions to prevent it. Government should focus on improving educational inequality and welfare system for single-parent families. In Japan, many people fall into poverty because they only have a low level of education. Without sufficient education, it is difficult to get a stable job, so they end up doing unstable jobs with low pay. High quality education, such as universities, in Japan is necessary to get a stable job, however, it is often extremely expensive and there are not many scholarships available. Thus, people who do not get into university tend to suffer from poverty. Another reason for poverty is an increase in single parents. The number of single-parent families are increasing in Japan, but they do not get enough financial assistance. In addition, it is difficult for single parents to get a full-time job, because they cannot work overtime. Most of them work harder, but they cannot make much money and receive only a small amount of financial support from the government. Therefore, single-mother families have to live in poverty. Owing to avoid such situations, government needs to work on correcting education gaps and providing more social support for single-parent families. People would go to college and earn more if the government or private sector set up more scholarship. The government also should set some law so that the company hire more single mother. In addition, the government raises a child benefit payment. Those solutions would hopefully help poor getting out of poverty. In conclusion, concerning poverty in Japan, we need to provide various forms of social support to help people their own way out of their unfavourable state.