Nowadays getting a job is becoming harder in poor countries leading to a rise in unemployment. Some people believe that pupils should only be allowed to access primary education while others believe that secondary education is necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The unemployment level is on the rise, particularly in countries where the majority are living on less than $ 1 a day. Restricting access to only primary education might seem advantageous in these countries as it will encourage the locals to focus on learning a trade; where jobs are more abundant. On the other hand, I believe giving pupils access to a higher level of education gives them a competitive advantage to find more lucrative jobs in their home town and it also opens opportunities for them internationally. It is important to note that the pay grade at many institutions is dependent on the level of education the employee has. Therefore, encouraging citizens of poor countries to partake in secondary education will enable them to live above the poverty line, and get a higher income. As seen in many developed nations, an accountant with a CPA will often earn more than an accountant with a High School certificate. In this case, it is clear that secondary education helps to increase one's wealth. Additionally, making the effort to acquire more knowledge in a subject at school opens many doors abroad. Take for instance the express entry visa service in Canada that allocates points based on your learning achievements. More points are awarded when a person has a Master's degree instead of a lower grade certificate. Therefore increasing your chances of going to Canada where the unemployment rate is far lower than in one’s home country. In conclusion, students should not be restricted to primary learning but encouraged to proceed with secondary learning because jobs obtained with a good education provide better pay. Additionally, opportunities out of the country will also become available.