Schools should do more to teach students about their health and wellbeing. Do you agree or disagree?

Human health and wellness are vital, so educational institutions should add extra initiatives to educate students about these two aspects. This essay agrees that additional measures are required to make pupils aware of general health and fitness. Allocating sometime, especially for teaching about the human body and its requirements apart from regular curriculum will benefit the students and two measures will be further discussed as a way to make students aware of them. To begin with, daily yoga sessions after school would be a viable solution. Yoga training will also include lectures which give a clear description of each part of the body, and its asana will help the body improve and maintain standards of mental health and physical fitness. Yoga is widely accepted and approved throughout the world, its roots are from India, and it is proved that 100% of the population who adopt yoga in daily their routine will see a drastic recovery in terms of human wellness just in 6 months. Another way is to educate students, encouraging them to consume homemade food. Schools can conduct sessions for parents and pupil regarding the importance of diet, and impose rules to carry their own meals every day rather than relying on fast food available in canteens. For example, a school in Japan, does not provide canteen facilities, therefore, students consume only nutritious food made at home, and this has a great impact on students’ health when compared to their counterparts from the other institutions. In conclusion, educational bodies conducting sports days and having regular classes is not enough, schools should go beyond and promote general health and fitness in the form of special activities which are to be conducted frequently.